#### IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF KANSAS

**FILED** 

### **Administrative Order**

October 15, 2024

DOUGLAS T. SHIMA CLERK OF APPELLATE COURTS

2024-CM-082

# **RE: Ad Hoc Strategic Planning Committee**

Recognizing that strategic planning is necessary to reflect the collective vision of, harness the strengths of, build trust and confidence in, and rise to the challenges faced by the Kansas Judicial Branch the Supreme Court hereby creates the Ad Hoc Strategic Planning Committee, effective the date of this order.

The duties of the committee include:

- 1. Identifying the demands faced by Kansas courts and those likely to confront Kansas courts in the future.
- 2. Understanding the implications of those demands and building the Kansas Judicial Branch's capacity to meet them.
- 3. Identifying ways to increase resilience and readiness for emergency situations.
- 4. Identifying ways that innovation and collaboration can support the everyday work of the Kansas Judicial Branch.
- 5. Sharing diverse perspectives from all levels of the Kansas Judicial Branch.
- 6. Ultimately crafting and presenting the Supreme Court a written plan.

The following individuals are appointed to serve on the committee:

## Kansas Supreme Court

- Chief Justice Marla Luckert, chair
- Meryl Carver-Allmond, General Counsel to the Chief Justice
- Marisa Bayless, Special Counsel to the Chief Justice
- Sarah Reichart, Director of Supreme Court Appeals

## Kansas Court of Appeals

- Judge Sarah Warner
- Chelsey Langland, General Counsel to the Chief Judge

#### **District Courts**

## Chief Judges

- Judge Joan Lowdon, 1st Judicial District
- Judge Kevin Berens, 15th Judicial District
- Judge Jeff Goering, 18th Judicial District

## District Court Judges

- Judge Cheryl Rios, 3rd Judicial District
- Judge Andrew Stein, 16th Judicial District
- Judge Kendra Lewison, 21st Judicial District

### District Magistrate Judges

- Judge Rhonda Cole, 6th Judicial District
- Judge Regine Thompson, 12th Judicial District
- Judge Kent Gleason, 24th Judicial District

# Chief Clerk Administrators/Chief Clerks

- Kelsee Burnett, 26th Judicial District
- Dina Morrison, 31st Judicial District

#### District Court Administrators

- Joni Wilson, 18th Judicial District
- Lundy Settle, 20th Judicial District
- Todd Heitschmidt, 28th Judicial District
- Anita Peterson, 29th Judicial District

### Chief Court Services Officers

- Kevin Waring, 10th Judicial District
- Nancy Finley, 14th Judicial District
- Stephanie Springer, 27th Judicial District

#### Court Reporters

• Shaun Higgins, 11th Judicial District

## District Court Technology

George Fluke, 3rd Judicial District

# Office of Judicial Administration

- Stephanie Smith, Judicial Administrator
- Laurel Klein Searles, Chief of Attorney Services and Compliance
- Evan Burt, Chief Information Security Officer

Dated this 15th day of October 2024. This order is entered under the authority granted by Article 3, Section 1 of the Kansas Constitution.

FOR THE COURT

MARLA LUCKERT

Marla Tuckert

Chief Justice