Rule 505

DISTRICT MAGISTRATE JUDGES CERTIFICATION COMMITTEE

A District Magistrate Judges Certification Committee is hereby established for the purpose of certifying district magistrate judges as required by K.S.A. 20-337.

The membership of the District Magistrate Judges Certification Committee shall be composed of four district magistrate judges and one nonvoting representative of the Office of Judicial Administration.

All members of the District Magistrate Judges Certification Committee shall be appointed by the Supreme Court. The terms of the inaugural members of the Committee shall be staggered: The term of one member shall be one year; the term of one member shall be two years; the term of one member shall be three years; and the term of one member shall be four years. At the expiration of the terms of these inaugural members, the term of each succeeding member of the Committee shall be four years. With the exception of the representative of the Office of Judicial Administration and a member whose service on the Committee begins with completion of another's unexpired term, no member of the Committee shall be eligible for more than two consecutive terms. Should a district magistrate judge not complete a term for any reason, a new member shall be appointed to complete the unexpired term. The new member shall be eligible to serve two more full consecutive terms. A district magistrate judge may serve one or more additional terms after a break in service.

In addition to the membership described above, the nonvoting Chair of the District Magistrate Judges Certification Committee shall be the Supreme Court Justice who serves as liaison to the Committee, as designated from time to time by the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. The Chair shall be not subject to a term limit.

[History: New rule adopted effective July 1, 2012.]