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Rule 721 

RESTRICTED LICENSE TO PROVIDE LEGAL SERVICES 

FOR A SINGLE EMPLOYER 

(a) Eligibility. An applicant may seek admission to the Kansas bar 

without examination by applying for a single-employer restricted li-

cense to practice law in Kansas if the applicant meets the following 

requirements:  

(1) is eligible under Rule 708; 

(2) is admitted by examination and licensed for the practice of law 

by the highest court of another state, the District of Columbia, 

or a United States territory; 

(3) accepts or continues employment with a person, firm, associa-

tion, corporation, or accredited law school engaged in business 

other than the practice of law; and  

(4) provides or will provide legal services solely for the employer 

described in subsection (a)(3). 

(b) Required Documents and Fee. No later than 90 days after the start 

date of the employment described in subsection (a)(3), an applicant 

under this rule must submit the following: 

(1) an application submitted and accepted through the Attorney 

Admissions office’s online portal; 

(2) the contact information for the employer who will verify the 

applicant’s employment and start date; 

(3) any other information the admissions attorney, the Attorney 

Admissions Review Committee, or the Board of Law Examin-

ers requests for use in considering the application; and  

(4) the fee under Rule 707(a)(8).  

(c) Practice During Pendency of Application. After filing an applica-

tion under subsection (b) and pending issuance of a restricted li-

cense, an applicant may provide legal services for the applicant’s 

employer under the supervision of a Kansas attorney. A supervising 

attorney must meet the following qualifications: 

(1) be registered as active under Rule 206, in good standing, and 

regularly engaged in the practice of law in Kansas; and 

(2) certify on a form provided by the Attorney Admissions office 

that the supervising attorney is professionally responsible for 

supervising the applicant’s practice of law during the pendency 

of the application for a restricted license.  

(d) Application Review Process. The following rules apply in the ap-

plication review process: 

(1) Rule 723 and Rule 725 apply to the character and fitness inves-

tigation and any hearing; 
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(2) Rule 724 applies following an adverse Board ruling; and  

(3) Rule 726 applies if the Board approves an application, except 

that the license issued under this rule is restricted.  

(e) Authorization. Except for pro bono services permitted under Rule 

1404, the restricted license authorizes the attorney to perform legal 

services exclusively for the single employer.  

(f) Duties. An attorney granted a restricted license under this rule is 

subject to all rules for practicing law in Kansas, including the re-

quirements for continuing legal education. 

(g) Duration of Restricted License.  

(1) Change in Employment. If the employment under subsection 

(a)(3) ceases, the attorney’s right to practice law in Kansas ter-

minates unless the attorney has accepted new qualifying em-

ployment and provides the following to the Attorney Admis-

sions office within 30 days: 

(A) written documentation of acceptance of new employment; 

and 

(B) the contact information for the employer who will verify 

the applicant’s new employment and start date; 

(2) Admission Under Another Rule. The restricted license termi-

nates if the attorney is admitted to the Kansas bar under Rule 

716, 717, or 719.  

(h) Time in Practice. An attorney may use time in practice under a sin-

gle-employer restricted license to satisfy the active practice require-

ment under Rule 719. But an attorney may not use time in practice 

under this rule to satisfy the requirements of a Kansas statute or reg-

ulation. 

[History: New rule adopted effective July 1, 2022.] 

 


